The Box

Before anything else, it was you.

My first love.

Before you there was life, but with you there was something else in entirety.

There was peace. There was freedom.

With you I could escape to any end of the earth my mind desired.

The hot sands of the Sahara or the frozen tundras in Alaska.

It was all accessible.

Always available. 

No need for travel agents cause they couldn’t book a flight where my mind was going.

It was just *click* and there I was. 

Lost for 60 minutes. Sometimes 30.

It didn’t bother me, any amount of time saved a soul.

Saved a mind. 

Saved me. 
Then the box was off.

No warnings.

Spent days at my mind’s airport in the terminal wondering will they ever start boarding.

I just wanna fly again.

I just wanna go to those places.

The places only my mind could take me.
So I ask you Mr. Cable Operator

When will I be able to fly again?

His reply

Soon as your momma pay that bill, little man.

Author: Kareem Robinson

Just a 80s baby with a dream. Bare with me as I get there. Born in NYC, Raised in Hip Hop. Follow me on Twitter or Instagram at : @PresidentRemo

Leave a Reply

